- HY300 Pro
- Wi-Fi + Bluetooth
- Manual focus, auto keystone
Same little swivel cylinder, same native 720p panel, same 200 ANSI lumens on Magcubic's own pair. The Pro moved the radios, the keystone and the size, and those decide which one sits on your nightstand.
Brought up to date September 2026Pick the HY300 Pro for dual-band Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.4 and automatic vertical keystone, and the 2026 Pro if a smaller body with its power supply moved outside matters to you. Pick the original HY300 only when you want its 5W stereo speakers and do not mind older radios, because the picture on the wall is the same. For Android 14 in a Pro body, look at Alwtniet's HY300 Pro.
Put an original HY300 and an HY300 Pro side by side on a dark bedroom wall and the picture tells them apart very little. Both use a native 1280 × 720 LCD panel, both play 4K and 1080p files by scaling them down, and Magcubic rates both at 200 ANSI lumens.
So the Pro was never the brighter or sharper projector. It is the same small cinema with newer wiring around it, and once the lights go down a film looks alike on either one.
What does 200 ANSI lumens look like? A comfortable 80 to 100-inch picture with the curtains drawn, and a washed-out one with a lamp on. Magcubic suggests about 5.2 feet from the wall for an 80-inch image on its Pro+, a useful starting point; the screen size guide maps other sizes.
The full panel, chip and port details for each model sit in the HY300 specs rundown.
| HY300 (original) | HY300 Pro (classic) | HY300 Pro (2026) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Native panel | 1280 × 720 | 1280 × 720 | 1280 × 720 |
| Files it plays | Up to 4K, downscaled | Up to 4K, downscaled | Up to 4K, downscaled |
| Brightness | 200 ANSI lumens | 200 ANSI lumens | 200 ANSI lumens |
| Wi-Fi | Dual-band 2.4/5GHz | Dual-band Wi-Fi 6 | Wi-Fi, generation not stated |
| Bluetooth | 5.4 (5.0 on the early version) | 5.4 | Version not stated |
| Keystone | Automatic, plus manual correction | Automatic | Automatic vertical |
| Focus | Manual | Manual | Manual |
| Body | Weight not stated | 350 g (0.77 lb) | 30% smaller than the previous Pro |
| Power | Not stated | 38 W rating | External power supply |
| Speaker | 5W stereo | Built-in speaker | Built-in speaker |
| Light source life | Up to 50,000 hours | Up to 50,000 hours | Not stated |
From Magcubic's own descriptions of each model. 'Not stated' means Magcubic gives no figure, and none is guessed here.
The clearest upgrade in the Pro is the radio. Magcubic's original HY300 connects on dual-band 2.4 and 5GHz Wi-Fi, with Bluetooth 5.0 on its early version and 5.4 on the current one.
The classic HY300 Pro moves to dual-band Wi-Fi 6 plus Bluetooth 5.4. Magcubic pitches the change as lower latency and better responsiveness, which you notice when mirroring a phone or when an app buffers on a crowded evening network. The 2026 Pro keeps Wi-Fi and Bluetooth but does not name the generation, so check the box if Wi-Fi 6 is what draws you to it.
| Radio | HY300 (original) | HY300 Pro (classic) |
|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 and 5GHz | Wi-Fi 6, 2.4 and 5GHz |
| Bluetooth | 5.0, then 5.4 | 5.4 |
Where the difference shows on a movie night:
If your router sits two rooms away, 5GHz on either model beats 2.4GHz for streaming as long as the signal reaches. Casting from Apple and Android handsets or from laptops is laid out in the phone connection guide.
Tilt a projector up at a wall and the picture turns into a trapezoid, wide at the top and narrow at the bottom. Keystone correction squeezes it back into a rectangle, and here the two models describe their correction differently.
Magcubic lists automatic keystone for the original plus a manual correction menu as backup. Every HY300 Pro describes automatic vertical correction: tilt the body and the picture straightens itself within a moment. Either way the correction is digital, so heavy tilting trims some sharpness from the edges.
The 2026 Pro also changes the box itself. Magcubic says its body is 30% smaller than the previous Pro and moves the power supply into an external adapter, which it credits with cooler running. The classic Pro weighs 350 g, light enough to carry from bedroom to garden in one hand.
How auto keystone decides what square means, and when it gives up, is covered in the keystone and focus guide.
Alwtniet builds its HY300 Pro around the Allwinner H726 chip and Android 14, with Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.4 and a 0.9:1 lens that throws up to 135 inches. It is the Pro to choose when the apps matter as much as the picture.
Start the showBoth generations run their streaming apps on the projector itself, so a film can start without a TV stick. Magcubic asks owners of both HY300 Pro bodies to update to the latest system version before judging the built-in apps.
Magcubic does not print an Android version for the original or for its Pro bodies. Other brands do: Alwtniet's HY300 Pro runs Android 14 on an Allwinner H726 chip, while several Android 11 HY300s from Chicdaze and ear&ear name a Mali-G31 graphics core, and Ellohra's Android 11 HY300 names the Allwinner H713. A badge reading HY300 Pro tells you less about the software than the spec line does.
The remote is the other quiet split. Infrared replacements made for the Magcubic HY300 Pro say plainly that they do not work with the Magcubic HY300, so the two generations use different remotes. The Pro+ goes further with an air-mouse remote that takes voice search.
Update steps are in the firmware guide, and remote matching in the HY300 remote guide.
Magcubic HY300 (original) |
ear&ear HY300 |
Magcubic HY300 Pro (2026) |
Magcubic HY300 Pro (classic) |
Alwtniet HY300 Pro | |
| Model | HY300 | HY300 | HY300 Pro | HY300 Pro | HY300 Pro |
| System | — | Android 11 | — | — | Android 14 |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 | Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 | Wi-Fi 6 |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.4 | Bluetooth 5.0 | Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.4 | Bluetooth 5.4 |
| Focus | Manual focus | Manual focus | Manual focus | Manual focus | Manual focus |
| Keystone | Auto keystone | Auto keystone | Auto keystone | Auto keystone | Auto keystone |
| Brightness | 200 ANSI lumens | 160 ANSI lumens | — | 200 ANSI lumens | 200 ANSI lumens |
| Resolution | 720p native | 720p native | 720p native | 720p native | 720p native |
| Start the show | Start the show | Start the show | Start the show | Start the show |
For most bedrooms the answer is a Pro, because it costs you nothing in picture and gains you newer radios and a tidier keystone. The original still makes sense in a few narrow cases, and the Pro+ is the step up when sound and control matter.
Other brands blur the names. ear&ear's plain HY300 already carries Wi-Fi 6 and Android 11 at 160 ANSI lumens, while some HY300 Pros from smaller brands name no Wi-Fi generation at all. Read the spec line, not the badge.
If the Pro+ is tempting, the speaker base and remote are weighed up in HY300 Pro+ vs HY300 Pro. For a plain-words look at what any of them gives a movie night, the HY300 review covers the picture in real rooms.
A palm-sized LCD mini projector shaped like a cylinder on a 180° swivel stand, with a native 1280 × 720 panel, built-in streaming apps, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. Many brands sell projectors under the HY300 name; Magcubic sells its own.
The updated HY300: the same 720p panel and 200 ANSI lumens on Magcubic's models, with dual-band Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.4 and automatic vertical keystone. The 2026 Pro body is 30% smaller than the previous one.
Not on Magcubic's models: both are rated at 200 ANSI lumens. For more light, the HY300 Ultra is rated at 260 and the HY320 Pro at 400.
Not reliably. Infrared replacements made for the Magcubic HY300 Pro state that they do not work with the Magcubic HY300, so match the remote to your exact model.
Both run streaming apps on the projector itself. Which apps install depends on the Android version and brand, so update the system first and then the apps.